top of page
Search
  • savangelique

Journal No. 6

Updated: May 14, 2021

  • Your journal entry should summarize any anxieties you may have regarding the expanded writing process presented in our course. What makes you nervous about this process? Does it seem too time- or labor-intensive?

  • Your journal should entry should also reflect on your openness to try the techniques we’ll present in our course. If we explain how particular techniques will improve your writing, but those techniques take additional time and effort, how likely are you to use them? Are there some circumstances where you might, for example, plan and revise but other circumstances where you might not? Be sure to explain thoroughly.

I have some anxiety about how long this project will take me, considering I am a master procrastinator and have invariably taken longer than most people to finish assignments, due to my perfectionistic-ways. The writing process is indeed extensive, but overall, worth it for the outcome. I think the amount of work could be intimidating at first but when looked at retrospectively, will offer me a greater understanding of the process. Additionally, doing the prerequisite work will leave less room for errors than if I were to skip over it. For the most part, I have a positive attitude towards the Literacy Narrative Assignment, because these journals have given me the opportunity to think metacognitively about my writing as a whole. So far, I have been loving metacognition as a concept in this course, as it facilitates me into becoming a better writer.


I wonder how many rough-drafts I'll have to type up, and if I'll end up going too fast for the writer's process steps, skipping over them by accident. That is just how my brain works. It’s very hard for me to draft a paper without editing it at the same time, so naturally when I proceed to the editing portion, there might not be anything to be fixed, in which case I will have nothing new to submit. And yes, this has happened to me before. My intention is to do my best on the first try, so how am I supposed to improve my best by editing it!? I guess during the drafting process I will use what I learned from my free write journal - JUST WRITE IT AND DON'T LOOK BACK. This is how I achieved peak creativity, and I really believe it helped me practice drafting in a practical way.


I'm open to trying the techniques presented to me in this course, because I know it will make me a better writer long-term. If I were not open to trying new things, I would not grow as a writer. This statement stands in all ways of life. If I weren't open to trying that nasty green mushy avocado when I was 15 then how would I know that I absolutely would kill for some avocado toast at any given moment? This also applies if I don't end up liking the techniques, then fine, at least I tried them and I know It's not for me. If I’m being completely transparent, if some of the steps become too time-consuming or redundant, I might not use them. Some steps might end up just merging together unintentionally. For example, I am physically writing this out, but I have converted it into text as part of my invention/planning step.


During the process of this Literacy Narrative Assignment, I will without-a-doubt be constantly evaluating my work, and if I have confidence in it without utilizing some of the techniques, then I am likely going to save myself the work. However, I will be conscientious of each of the steps in the writing process, as I know it will only help me achieve a better grade in the end.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page