top of page
Search
  • savangelique

Journal No. 2

Updated: May 14, 2021

  • Your journal entry should describe your first impressions of the Literacy Narrative assignment. What stands out in the assignment? What are you excited about? What are you concerned about?

  • Your entry should also discuss which communication literacies are most important or useful in your life right now. Are there particular kinds of communication (e.g., texting, e-mail, social media) that you use daily or that are important for your work or personal life? Why/how are they important?

  • Finally, your journal entry should reflect on how you acquired the communication literacies that are most important to you right now. How did you learn them? Did someone teach you? Did you teach yourself?


My first honest impression of the Literacy Narrative Assignment was:


I'm being asked to write about an assignment that‘s about writing?

That’s a bit redundant…

and here I am writing a journal about it.


In all seriousness, I understand the value of this specific assignment. By analyzing past writing assignments, I can examine my previous works for errors while also acknowledging my strengths as a writer. This will help me with future assignments, such as the ones in this course. I am concerned with the limited number of writing assignments I have kept. However, I still have a few in mind. I am excited to possibly reach out to an old professor to comment on a narrative essay I wrote for her class. I think this will offer me some really useful feedback on my work. I could potentially use her feedback as the multimodal element to the Literacy Narrative Assignment, which I think is a fantastic idea, seeing that this project is all about critical thinking, and reflecting on past writing processes. I am a bit confused on what exactly I am supposed to be writing about. Am I reflecting on a certain essay? or does it have to be a communication? I believe It’s all about the process I used during the composition, however I will be reaching out to the acedemic staff for further answers.


There are a number of times where I need to sound polished in communications via email, or texting. Some examples of this include texting my boss in a professional manner, and contacting a seller to see where my lost package is- and yes this happens way too often (I’m a frequent online shopper, unfortunately). I try to be professional even in these instances because It makes me sound important, whereas someone who sends an email to a company that sounds mediocre wont recieve the same amount of respect or be treated with the same sense of urgency. The type of literacy I use on social media is much different, because I have a casual audience, however one I still want to impress. The captions I compose for my instagram posts tend to sound more poetic, to match the aesthetic of my feed. I will occasionally go on twitter rants about politics, racial equality/justice, feminism, climate change, or other socially significant topics, in which I aim to look as educated as possible. These twitter rants might seem unimportant, however I view them as crucial to the needed social conversation, on topics that are very important all around the world. I voice my opinion in hopes to educate people.


I acquired my writing skills primarily from high school, like most do. Starting with brainstorming, where we discussed as a class, this was helpful when I was unsure if I was on the right track. Then of course, rough-drafting, writing, and editing. I particularly liked when teachers’ would have us do peer reviews, so I could learn from them, or recognize what I didn't like about their works’ and form my own opinions on what was ‘good writing’. I still have a habit of editing as I go, which puts a mental block up and intercepts my train of thought. I owe alot of credit to my mom, another big influence when it comes to my grammar, vocabulary, and spelling. She always led by example when speaking, writing a text message, or a facebook or twitter post. Personally, I have taught myself that writing is no fun when its no fun. What I mean by this is, I like to connect with my audience using humor, emotion, and specifically, italicized internal dialouge or paranthetical remarks. Don't you just hate when essays sound robotic? Simply existing to answer the prompts? I prefer reading interesting works rather than dull informative ones. I believe you need a bit of personality in your literacies, which is why I’ve set this standard for myself.




16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Los comentarios se han desactivado.
bottom of page